top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

A Third of the Way Done

I have a lot of resources and materials bookmarked for my literature review. Throughout my coursework this semester, I have continued to add to that list of resources and materials for my literature review. I am happy with what I have so far and the additional resources recommended to me in class. I have been talking with my major professor and am considering submitting a scoping review to an upcoming conference. The topic of this scoping review would help inform my literature review. 


My methodology is still developing. I have a general idea and an instrument decided upon. I plan to use a multi-method before-and-after research design. I plan to administer the Technology Proficiency Survey for Educators instrument (TPSE) which is accessible through the Institute for the Integration of Technology into Teaching and Learning (IITTL). The instrument will be administered to students enrolled in the digital tools course. The instrument will be administered at the beginning and end of the semester, supplying quantifiable pre/post-test data. Through observations and interviews with student participants, I can gauge how they feel about the instruction and gather feedback on what parts of the course properly prepared them. 


I began developing my portfolio website in my first semester of the doctorate program. While I was attending the virtual annual meeting one of the students did a live portfolio dissertation. I immediately reached out after the annual meeting to request the link to her website. I have used her website as a guide for my own. Since I created the website that first semester, I have made an effort to keep the website up to date. As I added publications, titles, and presentations to my portfolio, I have added them to my website. I have also shared my website with my AGF for feedback. His feedback has helped me to know how to structure it and he gave me ideas of other pages to include outside the required portions for my defense. My goal with my portfolio website is to keep it active after I graduate and use it as a point place for networking opportunities and sharing resources. I presently use Wakelet to share resources with others; an idea I have is to connect my Wakelet to my website. As for the required parts of the portfolio defense, I have all the required components. The publications are the only section I need to work on. I have the required amount of published works and plan to use coursework to supplement them. I need to complete edits to my coursework to get it to the standards for the portfolio defense. 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Follows 'The End'?

I successfully defended my portfolio today. It was one of those moments that I had built up in my head. I spent an insane amount of time reflecting, researching, and preparing for this milestone. Now

Portfolios, Dissertations, Defenses Oh My!

At present, I have not defended my portfolio. I plan to schedule it for the end of April or early May. I have had my website built since my first semester and have spent the last six to eight months a

Under Construction: Research Methodologies

Research Methodology Slides The general foundation of my research methodology is fairly strong. My goal is to conduct a multi-method study. My quantitative component will be the analysis of the pre-te

bottom of page